Thread: 260 ackley Fire form load ??

Team Savage

260 ackley Fire form load ??

I have Unique, Bluedot and Universal clays.

I never use the universal clays powder and would like to use that to fire form.

Thinking of using cream of wheat, tissue paper on top of the powder and a tissue paper plug.

Thanks

26 grains of unique covered with cream of wheat and sealed with crisco works great.

JCalhoun
    I use loads that I will be sighting in with and practicing.

Team Savage
    I am going to do some of that too, but thought I would try the other method.
    Never have tried it.

Team Savage
    I am going to do some of that too, but thought I would try the other method.
    Never have tried it.

JCalhoun
    I'm not an expert on barrels but not sure what the effect would be of blasting wax & wheat down the bore. I have found that there is not a lot of difference in elevation between the virgin brass and fire formed brass.

Team Savage
    This is a magnum contour Shaw hunting barrel so not worried about its life span.

Once I get it dialed in I am going to try it out at long distance like 600-1000 at the range and If I can get on target and actually shoot a decent group I will buy a 2nd target barrel.

Have read other places on the web of people fire forming with COW with no ill affects to the barrel.

Are you using Ackley loads in Virgin brass ?? or reduced loads ??

I have found you lose approximately 10% in velocity when fire forming, so I just compensate with a stouter load, but most of all I find the brass comes out nicer and more uniform, than with they other method.

Tanks Dean
    RUMs are like woman in Stiletto heals, you know they are going to put you in the poor house, but that has never stopped anyone from pursuing them.

JCalhoun
    I was running the "regular" load when I took it to the range. 140gr Nosler BTHP with virgin Nosler brass and 42gr of H4350. Now I have Nosler .260AI brass.