Thread: Ist Savage ever at 72 years Young

Basic Member

Ist Savage ever at 72 years Young

I am new to Savage as new can be even at 72, Bought my first 12F Class 6BR, I am now a believer. In my younger years Savage was a 2nd class firearm atleast that was the feeling back then. They have made some great strides, and they are becoming known as the creme of the crop. I have never changed a barrel on a Savage, and I guess the only time I would have to do it if the accuracy went south on me. I am doing a action and getting a barrel for it and the necessary tools to do it. Never have been one to attept the unknown but I am willing to try. Everyone says it is so easy? I was amazed at the number of barrel makers make Savage droop in barrels. The part of go and no go somewhat confuses me. As to when I would have it right and if I could get up enough courage to shoot the rifle after me doing it? I am no Gunsmith by any means, have moved from Maryland to Delaware. I have nobody to boost my confidence for undertaking such a venture. So with all the expertise of the sight here I am sure someone will step forward and help an Old Fart out. Thanks Lou
    A great civilization is not conqured from without,until it has destroyed itself from within. In God We Trust

possum1

Re: Ist Savage ever at 72 years Young

ourway, I'm in the same boat as you, excluding a few year's, I am wanting to change a barrel but wondering if I can put the first shot down the range. I have never had a rifle as accurate as the Savage/Stevens.

woody

Welcome to savage ownership, I guess I could say better late than never.
    I'am about the same age but bought my first savage in 66 or 67.
    I have a friend that has a vice, wrench and gauges so he does mine. It takes him about 15 minutes or less after he's found everthing.