Thread: Starting Load suggestions Lapua 155Gr Scenar and Berger 185Gr Juggernauts for .308?

Mark.W

Smile Starting Load suggestions Lapua 155Gr Scenar and Berger 185Gr Juggernauts for .308?

Hi Everyone,

Its my first post here so I guess I'm a newbie. The last time I used my rifle was before forums were invented :)
    I am getting back into shooting now, target shooting specifically. Used to hunt way back then, but never paid that much attention to my reloading.
    Now that I am trying to shrink my groups I realise its a different ball game all together, so I am trying to catch up.

The two target rounds I am planning on using is the Lapua 155 Scenar (Short to Medium Range 200-500) and the Berger 185 Juggernaut (long Range - 600-1000).
    I own a pre-accutrigger 112FVSS Savage in .308, its barely had 500 rounds through it but it served me well in hunting. Currently getting .5MOA groups @ 100m using 168 Sierra MK, but anything past 500 its not happening for me. I know there is probably a lot of shooting error that is responsible for it, but I want start eliminating the culprits one by one.

My rifle is chambered quite a bit off the lands 0.139" over the recommended 2.80". I am seating .015" off the land at the moment for my 168 Sierras which they seem to like. That makes my C.O.L 2.92".

Can any one recommend a good starting load for the Lapua 155Gr and the Berger 185 Juggernauts?
    This would save me a lot of lead and time. Much appreciated.

Mark

You gotta whole lot going on in that post Mark.....

1) The game hasn't changed, just more chickens in the field.
    2) Bullets. I personally don't use them, but have exp with the Lapua. I don't like Berger bullets, they REQUIRE fiddling with that others don't. The 168 SMK has LONG be recognized as having a poor boat tail angle, for Trans-Sonic velocities.