Thread: CBTO vs. SAAMI COAL

CBTO vs. SAAMI COAL

OK, so I'm a newbie and just did my first batch of rounds following Hornady's directions since I was loading SST's. But I've just figured out the importance of seated bullet depth--rather more specifically getting the bullet's base of ogive as close as possible to the lands in the barrel's throat. I just followed the COAL that hornady has in the book--but when preparing to load Nosler bullets I came across a totally different COAL for the same caliber (which I'm sure is due in part to the different bullet) but my initial reaction was "waoh, how could they be that different?" That's when I found the CBTO info and realized that this was a very important issue in getting my loads accurate.

So, my question is --how many of you go by CBTO rather than SAAMI max, and what do you find is the best way to determine CBTO for your rifle? I'm also aware of the importance of magazine clearance.

Thanks, : )

Basic Member
    First you need to determine the jamb length for the bullet you want to use in your rifle. Easiest way is to place the bullet in a sized, uprimed case (obviously without powder); seat the bullet a little long. Bolt into the chamber to "jamb" onto the lands; then eject but care must be taken to assure the lands don't grab the bullet and cause an error. I oil the bullet slightly and gently use a cleaning rod down the muzzel when ejecting to facilitate this process. While you can use the overall length, a comparator based on ogive measurement is better. Once you know the jamb length then you can try different seating depths.

Quote Originally Posted by CharlieNC View Post