Thread: New guy with question on Axis ammo and scope

BlackHeart_HMFIC

New guy with question on Axis ammo and scope

Howdy!

Just bought an axis .308 and wanted to ask a couple questions. Bear in mind that I'm a total noob at this and wanting to learn. It's the first rifle I've ever bought for myself (bought a Savage 64F .22 for my son at the same time). My only other rifle is a 30/30 lever action my uncle gave me. Went hunting with it once and killed the first deer I seen with iron sights, so I might have a little potential. :)

Anyways, bearing in mind my noobness, has anyone here ever used Sierra Matchking 30Caliber bullets http://www.slickguns.com/product/sie...ipping-over-99 in the Savage .308 and did they work well? I ask because they are very cheap and I wanted to buy a lot of rounds to practice.

Also, what would you guys recommend for a budget minded scope for a noob. Something cheap until I (A) get better and (B) have more money. :)

BlackHeart_HMFIC
    I seen someone give this recommendation for a 223 in another thread: http://www.cameralandny.com/optics/v...ssfireii2-7x32

They offer "dead-Hold BDC Reticles" and "Rimfire V-Plex Reticles", terms that are foreign to me. (See, I told you I was a noob) Would one of them be a good choice?

Edit: A video on that very page shows the difference between dead-hold and v-plex. Guess I just need to do some you-tubing.
    Last edited by BlackHeart_HMFIC; 12-31-2012 at 04:28 PM.

Basic Member
    Right where I Always Need To Be. Usually...
    For a good cheap scope the Nikon Prostaff is pretty good for the money. I picked on up at Walfart a few month ago. Paid $185 tax, tag & title - out the door. I like the nikon glass. The BDC reticle is a litttle heavy but works good. If the lines were a bit thinner it'd be perfect for a under $200 scope. the one I got is a 4-12x.
    That's my .02 & I'm a Vortex fan.

By the way, good luck with the new toy(s).
    Frank in Fla
    'Scuse me while I whip this out...!