Thread: Removing Camo Dipping on Savage 10 Predator

greggo57

Removing Camo Dipping on Savage 10 Predator

Hey Guys-
    I am new to Savage Shooters and excited about all the info on this site. I am wondering if anyone has removed the camo dipping/paint from the Savage 10 Predator. I want to put a new stock on the rifle...which gets me to my next question. I pulled the stock off of my rifle tonight and the magazine is attached to the action. Does this mean I have the staggered feed action with the shorter screw spacing? I don't have a caliper to get an accurate measurement on the spacing. Thanks.

Greg

helotaxi
    A ruler will give you an accurate enough measurement. Your rifle would have had to have been one of the first Predator Hunters and last stagger-feed actions made. .223 or .204? The .378" bolt face cartridges were the last to convert over to the centerfeed design I think in the 2009 timeframe.

greggo57
    Yes it is a .223 and the staggered feed. Thanks helotaxi.

helotaxi
    And I've got a feeling that you're not going to like any of the methods that would be used to strip the camo. If you don't want it camo'd, you might be better off selling it and getting a different rifle.

thomae
    What about a heat gun? Would that work?

helotaxi
    Probably not. Figure that the camo dip stuff is pretty high temp stuff.

hammie
    You could try increasingly aggressive solvents. Lacquer thinner, methyl ethyl ketone (MEK), or paint remover with methylene chloride in it. If it's an epoxy based paint, the best bet may be the lacquer thinner. The problem is that as the solvents get more aggressive on the paint, they get more aggressive on you. So I would wear solvent resistant gloves and do it outside when a good breeze is blowing.

I have been watching this thread since you started it hoping a solution from someone who had done it would come along.