Thread: Gave an old friend a second makeover

squawsach

Gave an old friend a second makeover

I have been playing with Savage rimfires for a couple years but I just discovered Savage Shooters forum. I thought I would say HI and post the lastest mods done to my turtle shooter. I bought one of the $99 MkIIs from Wal-Mart many moons ago and turned it into a project gun. I can't leave things well enough alone and the rifle may have been a real shooters as it was but I took it home and knocked the barrel out of it before I ever shot it. It looked like this before before I started the project.

I bought a GM barrel blank and had in turned to my specs and I put a PTG Match chamber in it and and crowned it. The stock needed replaced but at the time the only drop in stocks for the MKII were pretty much like the factory stock. I ordered an uninletted Warner Varmint stock from Boyds and did the inletting for the MKII. There were several other mods to the action. It ended up looking like this.