Thread: Go and NO-GO Gauges

KMAY

Go and NO-GO Gauges

Do i really need both the go and no go gauges? It seams like all you really need is the no go gauge and you can set head space from that?

lwink

Re: Go and NO-GO Gauges

I'm far from an expert, but what I've seen on here, elsewhere, and did myself twice so far was get a go guage only, then put a piece of scotch tape which is about .02" thick on the go guage base and it becomes a no go. I think if you are getting one or the other is would be more helpful and safer to get the go guage only.

hotbrass

Rebarreling a Savage is very simple and does not require anything more than a go gauge.

No Go gauges are useful if you are building a barrel because tolerance stacking can catch you by surprise even after careful measuring and cutting.

You might be surprised at how many factory new rifles will close on a no go gauge.

KMAY

So if i just order a go gauge for the 243 barrel and one for the 22-250 barrel i have i thats all i will need to set headspace?

hotbrass

I would say yes only IF you know how to set the headspace.

The .243 gauge will work for .243 Win, 7mm-08 Rem, .260 Rem, .308 Win, .338 Fed, and .358 Win also since the shoulder lenght, dia., and angle are the same. You might find a .308 go gauge is less expensive some places.

usngunner

My answer from this thread in April of 2008.

I guess it bears repeating as the cheap "let's save a nickel at the risk of our significant body parts" crowds are out again.

If you guys are that stupid and cheap, have a great time but don't post the pictures here later.

Look for the "Natural Selection" forums, the Child board is "Too Stupid to Live", and the subsection is "Hope they got it before they bred."

Do not skip the head space gauges, especially if it's your first time out. There are too many variables in setting head space on a fired cartridge. I really don't think that saving $34.00 is worth the risk. That's not being frugal, that is just cheap.