Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why magazines?

Why magazines?

Many of you know I'm a newbie and the trials and tribulations I've encountered in my first dabbling in the bolt-action world.

I see many people wanting to go to higher capacity, semi-auto style magazines--and I totally don't get this. I come from the AR world, where a high capacity mag makes sense--but what little I've learned about these Axis guns is that they are not meant to generate heat--and, at least for the bigger caliber ones, there is much movement in the gun from recoil I don't see the purpose/need for a quick reload. When I go out on the range with my Axis rifles I generally single-shot hand-feed each round into the chamber.

rattfink
    1. Its tacticool. Like cars, houses, boats, motorcycles, people want what's sexy for their firearms. Its a hobby so why not?
    2. Some folks may like to be able to carry a full load, and be able to quickly unload their rifle completely without a bunch of loose rounds.
    3. I have shot competitive courses that involved rapid fire in small numbers with a reload. This sort of shooting is challenging and lots of fun. Check out the Swiss rifle course of fire sometime. Rapid fire with reloads in bolt guns on a cammo target at 200 yards IRC.
    4. Maybe if I was hunting I would prefer to carry a magazine or two (Maybe with two types of ammo) as I walked in and then quickly and easily made ready when I get to my area/ blind etc.

There is no accounting for personal taste.

I understand maybe a few shots--but high capacity I don't.

Me neither. To each his own.

Basic Member
    If all you're doing is punching paper, then there's no need.

Basic Member