Thread: Reasonable priced spotting scope?

kdvarmint

Reasonable priced spotting scope?

Considering a new spotting scope for 500yrd. Must be able to see .224 holes on paper at 500yds under "reasonable conditions". Yeah, I know, mirage >. $400 to $600 range. Any suggestions?

Re: Reasonable priced spotting scope?

I not sure that there is a spotter made at any price that will show .224 holes every time at 500 yards. If there is I bet that $600.00 won't touch it. I'm not an expert by any means but I have looked through some pretty nice spotters up to 60x and it was pretty tough to pick out little holes at 300 yards.

Good luck in your search, if you find one please share the info, I'm getting ready to buy a new spotter myself!

Bob
    It's better to shoot for the moon and hit the fencepost than to shoot for the fencepost and hit the ground!

I use a kunos 20-60, and I can't see 30-06 holes with mirage at 200 yrds sometimes,
    kunos = good value,
    newbie from gr, mi.

308law

I have read a lot of this guys reviews and post on forums and he seems to know his stuff. Here is his recommendations at different price points.

http://opticsthoughts.com/index.php?...layout=default

kdvarmint

Quote Originally Posted by BobT
    I not sure that there is a spotter made at any price that will show .224 holes every time at 500 yards. If there is I bet that $600.00 won't touch it. I'm not an expert by any means but I have looked through some pretty nice spotters up to 60x and it was pretty tough to pick out little holes at 300 yards.

Good luck in your search, if you find one please share the info, I'm getting ready to buy a new spotter myself!

Bob
    "Reasonable conditions" Not every time.

nimrod1

I never had a spotting scope but I always wanted one. I'll be watching this thread to see what people say.

kdvarmint