Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: twist rate question?

twist rate question?

I am looking into building another 243AI for shooting bullets 75gr and less. Primarily 58gr V-Max's but also 55gr Noslers and Blitzkings when I find deals.

Normally I go with the theory of going with a faster twist to give myself more options in bullet weights later should I change my mind. But I wonder if I go with a slower rate of twist will I get a decent gain in velocity?

I am strongly considering a CBI barrel in a 28" or 30" Bull, but I see they are listed as a 8" twist only. I am not dead set on a CBI, but I have had great luck with my 6BR in CBI so might as well stick with what works, but if a 1-14 will get me decent gains, then I will start looking elsewhere. I have had multiple barrels for a single caliber in the past but by coincidence they all had the same twists so I have no 1st hand experience comparing drastic changes in twists on the same caliber.

So I guess my question is: Since a 1-14" should easily stabilize 58gr bullets, how much am I going to gain in velocity if I go with a 1-14" over the 1-8"? (assume all variables are equal other than twist)

My current 243AI is a 26" Savage SS Fluted 243 barrel that was rechambered and has the 1-9.25" twist and it shoots the 58's great, but I am just wondering if I can get more from a slower twist or just stay with a faster twist and quit worrying about it ???
    204, 22 K-Hornet, 222, 223, 22-250, 22-250AI, 6BR, 243, 243AI, 6-06, 6-WSM, 250-3000AI, 270, 7-08, 7RM, 30BR, 308, 30-06, 375 H&H, 444 Marlin, 450BM, 458WM

Basic Member

Re: twist rate question?

with a 1-8 I would think you would have problems getting those 58's to stay together

82boy

To start you wil get more velosity from a fast twist over a slow twist rate barrel. (Think about it, the faster twist alows the bullet to build more pressure behind it.) Personaly I would say that a 243AI is SUPER WAY overbore for a 58 gn bullet.

Kelly Jackson