Thread: Hornady Concentricity Tool

Luckus

Hornady Concentricity Tool

My Hornady Concentricity gauge showed up today. I put it together and gave it a test run. I think I should have bought it long ago, as it works well. I have a RCBS Case master, but short cases are impossible to hold on the v blocks and get accurate readings. Being able to straighten the bullet without removing it from the tool is a great feature.

gotcha

Re: Hornady Concentricity Tool

Glad you like your new toy :D I've heard a lot of negatives about the concentricity tool lately. I've had mine a couple years. If I check for bullet concentricity, adjust to say.0015" R/O, then recheck the R/O at the body just below the shoulder in my Forster concentricity gauge ( V-blocks located on bullet & on base) the R/O will always be .0015" or less there also. Took me a while to get accustomed to adjusting R/O as it's easy to adjust "over center" & push R/O to the opposite side of bullet. All in all I've gotten really good results w/ the Hornady tool

Luckus

I can see by the little use I have done, that it will take some getting used to. I checked some 308 rounds I had used my RCBS gauige on in the Hornady, and they were right on the money .001-.

gotcha