Thread: Center Feed

Uncle Jack

Center Feed

Can a LA be converted from center feed to the older staggered feed?

uj

Basic Member

Re: Center Feed

Why do you want to go backwards??
    "As long as there's lead in the air....there's still hope.."

Uncle Jack

Availability of aftermarket stocks. I'm not sure that it is a step backwards. I've been shooting Savage rifles for almost 50 years and never had a problem with feeding. What issues were addressed by the change to the new system?

Nope, not possible....the machine cuts in the bottom of the action are totally different.

As for stock availability, the long-actions have the same screw spacing between the old staggered feed and the new center feed. As such, the only real difference is in the dimensions of the inlet for the mag box and the groove for the magazine hanger. It isn't hard to modify a staggered-feed stock to work with the newer centerfeeds.

"Life' is tough. It's even tougher if you're stupid." ~ John Wayne
    “Under certain circumstances, 
urgent circumstances, desperate circumstances, profanity provides a relief denied even to prayer.” —Mark Twain

Woodser

I have been shooting Savage rifles since the 70's, and have had a good deal less feeding problems with the staggerfeeds than the centerfeeds. I see no advantage to the later at this point. My old 110 actions have had no problems at all with feeding, so in my view it is not a step backwards, the new centerfeeds were that rearward step. With that said, I have so far been able to make whatever modifications to the centerfeeds that were required to get reliable feeding, but that is not something that was required on the older actions that I have had. IF the new design results in a stiffer action, that is all well and good, but reliable feeding should have been a priority as well.

Basic Member