Thread: pillar and glass bedding

Basic Member

pillar and glass bedding

Need help doing a first time job. I am building a 280AI from a stevens 200. I just got the metal parkerized and i have everything to put it together, but i have a boyds stock and it has no pillars. I would like to pillar and glass bed it, but i have never done either before. I am a very quick learner and i have my A&P, but i am more of a visual learner, anyone near southern Michigan willing to give me a hand for the first time?
    jjlietzke@yahoo.com

Re: pillar and glass bedding

I'd love to help you out but I'm all the way down in Georgia.
    Vietnam Vet, Jun 66 - Dec 67

LabRat2k3

It is a bit nerve racking to do the first one, but if you take your time, and think about the process, it is really not that hard. The hardest part for me was waiting to pull it back apart to see if I had messed up.

I believe there is a tutorial on here to do it as well as you tube. Just keep in mind that the tang behind the trigger is freefloated on the savage's.
    Willing to give back for what the sport has done for me!

Here's a good place to start: http://www.6mmbr.com/pillarbedding.html

A lot of folks swear by DevCon 10110 as a bedding compound. I had trouble locating it locally so I've used PC-7 on the last three jobs with good success.

There's a post somewhere here about using threaded lamp rod for pillar material - should work just fine. The threads would grab the epoxy and they are certainly strong enough to resist compression when you tighten the action screws.

Good luck.

Fred
    12 FLV 204 Ruger

Basic Member

I tried the threaded lamp part. Worked OK but needed an escutcheon. I had great results with the knurled aluminum pre-cut jobs that the guy on e-Bay has been selling for the past few years.

Eric in NC

Quote Originally Posted by kelbro
    I had great results with the knurled aluminum pre-cut jobs that the guy on e-Bay has been selling for the past few years.
    +1