Thread: Is my brass worn out or did I screw up my necks?

Tarleton_Texan

Is my brass worn out or did I screw up my necks?

I have recently turned the necks down to .010 thickness on 10x fired lake city brass loaded and shot it fine. I neck sized it and when I was seating the bullets I noticed that there was no resistance and could easily pull the bullets out of the case . So did I turn the necks to thin or is my brass just worn out? ??? This is my first attempt at turning necks so I was kinda guessing as to what thickness to make the neck. I also did 250 virgin pieces of LC brass to the same neck thickness I am really hoping I did not ruin it.

Trent

Re: Is my brass worn out or did I screw up my necks?

Generally we don't "guess" when it comes to reloading bro. 0.010" is pretty thin but should hold a bullet. Your necks aren't going to last long though since they will be expanding and contracting so much during firing/sizing now.

With removing that much material more than likely your sizing die will not be able to size the neck down small enough to give good neck tension. As a trial and error step you could try removing your expander ball and see if the necks will then grip a bullet. That way the expander ball isn't opening the neck back up.

Aircraftmech76

Yep, a little on the thin side, but not horrible. You would be better served, with 10 firings on that brass, to anneal the necks and do a "light" cleanup of the outside of the brass necks if you so choose.

Kevin

82boy