Thread: Need some barrel reviews

mugsie

Need some barrel reviews

I'm wanting to build another rifle or maybe just switch barrels on one I've already built. I've used Shileen barrels on my previous builds and they all shot fantastic, but my nature just won't allow me to use what works - I need to tinker. I've been reading a lot on this forum about Criterion and McGowen as well as Shileen. I have a lot of first hand experience using the Shileen, but none on any other barrels other than the Savage factory ones. So? What say ye? Let's hear some opinions on other barrels. How they hold up, ease of load development, breaking in period etc.

I will tell you one thing however, building Savage rifles is like eating potato chips - ya just can't stop at one!

airaddict

Re: Need some barrel reviews

Ive used mcgowan and er shaw. Mcgowan are hand lapped and are good quality for the money. Shot well and cleaned easy.

Er shaw are good for the money as well. A more afordable option to try diff calibers without dropping to much cash at one time. Especially if u get in on the group buys. They are not lapped but my 223 AI stopped coppering at around 30-50 rounds amd only had very slight traces of blue when i ran butches thru it or the copper eating foam.

Brian

calling4life

What... Did you bother to look at the threads above this... Discussing this exact issue on several aftermarket brands ::)

82boy