Thread: Has anyone made their own fiberglass style stock?

TLong

Has anyone made their own fiberglass style stock?

I've seen people make wood stocks and metal chasis style stocks. My question is has anyone made their own fiberglass/kevlar type stock with any success? If you have, could you please post up some pics and a list of materials used. Thanks.

BigDaddyKane

Re: Has anyone made their own fiberglass style stock?

I actually have tried this exact thing. My extended family has rebuilt clasic cars for as long as I can remember. So I have some experience with fiberglass resin's for auto-body sculpting. Last summer I took some angle steel and bent it into a rudimentary shape of a rifle to use as the main support/action framing. Then I used fiberglass screening and resin to pour & shape my own stock. It was quite fun, and a TON of work. However, the end product was far from usable. It was no doubt strong, as it weighed close to 20 LBS. Fiberglass is heavy as all sin but I'm sure the steel frame didn't help. The other thing is... fiberglass, as strong as it is, does not have the greatest "shock" resistance. So with all the recoil, you can expect it to crack. However, I believe this can easily be done using the proper materials....