Thread: jump to jam

LabRat2k3

jump to jam

I've been reloading for about 6 years now, so I'm still pretty new at it. I have really only loaded hunting rounds. I have always just worked to find what charge weight gave the best groups and seated them to the COAL from whichever manual I got the load from and called that good enough. However, I have started working up a load for my new range gun that I built in hopes of printing the smallest groups I can. I have the charge figured out, but need help on finding the right seating depth. My question is what range of depths most of you cover while testing a load. How much of a jump do you start with? How far into the lands to you go, and in what increments do you shorten or lengthen your seating depth?

Re: jump to jam

First, give us a little info on your gun.

Second, tell us what bullet you plan on shooting.

Some bullets like being on or in the lands a little, some like to be off a little.
    [B][SIZE=3]Dennis[/SIZE][/B]

LabRat2k3

It is a Stevens 200 with a CBI .223 Ackley Improved barrel. I'm single feeding them so mag length is no issue to me. I'm shooting 69 grain SMK over 25.5 Grains of TAC powder, CCI primer, Lake City brass.

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis
    First, give us a little info on your gun.

Second, tell us what bullet you plan on shooting.

Some bullets like being on or in the lands a little, some like to be off a little.
    +1, you won't know what your rifle likes until you try different seating depths, there's no hard/fast rule. Let your barrel dictate what it likes.
    Vietnam Vet, Jun 66 - Dec 67

seanhagerty

You are going to need to do a little development. Find out what the OAL jam length is for the specific bullet you want to use.
    Once you have that, seat bullets to that depth, then do load work up from published minimums, looking for overpressure signs.

Do not seat bullets longer than your developed length. Pressure can build rapidly as you increase jam.

LabRat2k3