Thread: first savage 110E

Team Savage

first savage 110E

Picked up a mint condition 110E in .270 for $200. Hardly looks shot, if a box . Now comes the question want a new stock, looking at boyds thumbhole,any thoughts..and i need to order a die set. I have only reloaded for pistol and .444 marlin so im new to non-straight wall rounds. is the deluxe rifle set plenty or need i order another die with it? what i have now is all Lee equipment. this will be a hunting and paper puncher in the off season.

Re: first savage 110E

The thumb holes are nice, a bit of areach for my short fingers though.
    As for the dies...
    If I remember correctly, the dlx kit is a seater, full length, and neck die. That is all the dies you NEED. If you are getting into paper much I recommend lee's factory crimp die; also good for rough handled hunting loads. But it isn't needed. You will need a trimmer, stick with Lee's; cheap & easy.
    I'm a firm believer in the theory that if it bleeds, I can kill it.

Basic Member

The Lee RGB dies are all you really need. I partial size using the full length die and get a custom fit in the chamber. The RGBs are only about $15.

ellobo

I use Lee dies on my Rockchucker press for many reloads, fom 45-70, 38-55 up through 300 W mag. Never a problem. I also have had three Boyds stocks and like them as well.

El Lobo

DonArkie

here's my 110E long action with Boyd Ross Thumbhole, wouldnt have anything else. best drop in after market stock . Mines be altered a bit, bedded and the barrel channel open up some to support a #4 Hart Barrel

Team Savage

thank you everone for your expert knowledge ordered the equipment today. DonArkie thats a sweet sweet piece and ellobo what is your 38-55 and how do you like it. Im a bit of a lever action fan and have been looking into a Marlin 1893.

ellobo