Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .260 Bullet Penetration on Whitetail

Basic Member

.260 Bullet Penetration on Whitetail

Will anyone be willing to equate the penetration performance on whitetail of .260 Remington CoreLokt factory ammo to .308 Winchester 150 grain Ballistic Silver Tips? With one hunt into a new .260 that came out of the custom shop with a stainless 24” medium weight barrel topped by a Swaro BRH reticle, I’m still learning what a .260 bullet does to deer.

With the .260 combo last week my 15 year old dropped a deer at 215 yards. The CoreLokt bullet did not punch through but bounced into the neck after hitting the front shoulder - effective.

The .260 CoreLokt is the fastest 140 grain factory load I have found, 2750 fps @ muzzle. The .308 150 grain Silver Tips have always left their mark and made tracking easy when needed, farthest shot has been 165 yards - from a Model 14.

Earlier in the week a deer scampered off and I could not find hide or hair, although I think he hit it, but could not support the claim. Acknowledging bullet placement is important, a teenage hunter will still leave me tracking now and then. Will CoreLokt .260 leave the same evidence of a hit as a .308 round?

If I were to dip my toe into .260 loading in the 140 grain hunting bullet category, are Nosler Partition & Accubond and Lapua Naturalis good choices for whitetail? Any other bullets to consider for whitetail that would take advantage of .260 ballistics and BRH reticle? Given I have no loading experience, any reason not to start with Lapua’s .260 brass with primers already in?

Thanks

Aircraftmech76

Re: .260 Bullet Penetration on Whitetail

Pretty much any bullet in 260, short of varmint bullets, is going to bring down a whitetail. They are not tough animals, and not thick skinned. I would venture to say that any bullet 140 grains and heavier will go completely through a deer given its sectional density.

Kevin

Basic Member