Thread: Basic barrel removal help

mstarling

Basic barrel removal help

Guys,

I apologize for the very basic question, but I am new to the issue and have not used the site much. My rifle is a basic barrel nut Savage in .308. A 1:10 twist, 22" heavy sporter Douglas bbl has been swapped in. The rifle has an accu-trigger and sits in a Brownell's synthetic stock. I need to pull the barrel to send it out to be threaded, then reinstall it.

Will someone please point me to a good explanation of the process and tools required to do that job, please.

(A barrel vise and a Mauser action wrench is available, and I can make a new top for the wrench if needed.)

Thank you!

Re: Basic barrel removal help

Here are a couple of you tube videos explaining the process:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPlFtskCwng

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsM6_...eature=related

One is with action held and the other is with barrel held. Should give you an idea.

Hope that helps.

Boots
    204, 22 K-Hornet, 222, 223, 22-250, 22-250AI, 6BR, 243, 243AI, 6-06, 6-WSM, 250-3000AI, 270, 7-08, 7RM, 30BR, 308, 30-06, 375 H&H, 444 Marlin, 450BM, 458WM

mstarling

Appreciate the videos but can't see them on a dial-up link. Satellite connection died and we're waiting for the telephone company to get us DSL. Will probably be after the first of the year. Maddening!

mutwagn

chakup

You could try posting where you're at and there may be a local to you willing to help and maybe even loan tools to use to do this. It's really pretty simple though.

mstarling, sorry bout that, looks like mutwagn found an article here. I knew there was one but couldn't remember where.

http://savageshooters.com/index.php?...arrel Swapping
    204, 22 K-Hornet, 222, 223, 22-250, 22-250AI, 6BR, 243, 243AI, 6-06, 6-WSM, 250-3000AI, 270, 7-08, 7RM, 30BR, 308, 30-06, 375 H&H, 444 Marlin, 450BM, 458WM

Eric in NC