Thread: Newbie to the site w/ an ammo question

historian

Newbie to the site w/ an ammo question

Hello:

I'm new to the site and a new owber of a Savage 111 LRH in 300 Win Mag

I was wondering what you guys think is the best (most accurate) ammo for distance shooting at targets?

I have no experience with long range shooting. Up to this point I've focused on tactical weapons and tactics (I own a FNH PS90, FNH FS2000, and several pistols).

Any advice or suggestions about the gun, ammo, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Mike :)

Basic Member

Re: Newbie to the site w/ an ammo question

i think you will find the general answer to be a hands down "reloads developed for your rifle"

Gary
    "And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:32 (New King James Version)

Daves762

Depends on your demands. If you want o shoot a few through the same hole with factory ammo, you might as well go buy a super lotto ticket........If you just want to hit the target, then go buy a few boxes of different kinds and see which one shoots best.

Trying to buy factory ammo thats gonna shoot bullseye's in YOUR rifle is like going on a snipe hunt.
    IF you find a factory load that does work, you then must go buy hundreds of rounds of the exact same ammo, and hope it's from the same batch.

The money you will spend doing exactly this is enough to buy a start up kit from HORNADY or RCBS and start reloading. Reloading is not hard, and it's super fullfilling and fun, and thats why all "serious shooters" do so.

The 300 Win Mag has some very long legs on it. (shoots far as hell very well) especially with the heavier bullets with a barrel that has 1/10 twist. So you wont even tap inot the "magnum" portion of the cartridge untill 300-400 yds. Past that is where the benefits of "magnum" take effect. If you just want to shoot paper 300yds or less get a 308 or 30-06 as the ammo is way cheaper and the FPS doesn't matter on paper at that range.