Thread: Should I start again?

Mike the Impaler

Should I start again?

So, I load up some rounds to test.

30-06 Hornandy 3045 BTSP 165 g
    IMR 4350
    I make loads at 50/50.5/51/ and so on to 55.5 g
    Cases are 2.488 and col is 3.228
    The wind was about 15 mph from behind with some gusting. It was about 85 or 90 degrees.

Out of the 12 3-round groups, two are sub moa. The 51 g and the 54.5.

The vast majority of the groups had 2 of the three rounds 1/2 inch apart with the 3rd round about 1 1/2 inches away, some farther.

So, I figure if it was the wind, the rounds would be all over. I also am confused by the two groups that shot sub moa with the powder difference.

I'm new to reloading so any advice would help. I did let the gun rest between groups.

Re: Should I start again?

I'm assuming you have the sporter barrel, correct? How long are you waiting between shots? I have a Savage staggerfeed 30-06. I'm loading the 165 gr Sierra BTHP in Lake City match brass, BR2 primers over IMR4350 with charges similar to yours. My OAL is just enough for the rounds to fit the magazine. So far, waiting a few minutes between shots, I've been able to put three into .678" at 100 yards for a few groups. My worst group was 1.1" towards the end of my range cession. I wait almost 10 minutes between 3 shot groups and let the barrel cool in the shade of my truck bed cover (90 degree plus temps in central Georgia and a blazing sun heating the barrel when it just sits in the sun). The previous owner painted my barrel flat black so it really soaks up heat from the sun. I pour cool water on the barrel, wipe it down, before sitting it in the shade, seems to help the "cool down" to be quicker.
    Vietnam Vet, Jun 66 - Dec 67

Mike the Impaler

Yes, I think it's a 22 inch barrel on a 111. I'm waiting 5 to 10 minutes between groups. Not totally cool but a lot cooler than just shooting them all.

82boy