Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: rebarreling a 110

cooker900

rebarreling a 110

Hello folks

I'm new here and have a few questions

I have a older 110 LA chambered in 223 rem i am wanting to re-barrel and chamber it to a 260 rem.

i am looking to do this on a budget and I'm looking at a ER Shaw barrel 24" SS with a 1n9 twist. i know i need a 308 family bolt head and blind mag well.

is there anything else that i need. i have read that i can do this whole thing myself but i have never done anything like this before. looking for any and all thoughts on my project.

and yes it will look different with a blue receiver and a SS barrel. but that is ok with me.

Basic Member

Re: rebarreling a 110

You'll need a new front bolt baffle, yours should have a dog leg on it to limit bolt throw.
    A new mag box and follower if you want to make it a repeater.
    Yours may also be a large firing pin and have an alignment slot on the bolt head.

If you want to sell your long action .378 (223) bolt head once you get the new .473 (308) bolt head installed, I'd be interested in buying it.

cooker900

just asking why would i need a new baffle? i looked at them and they did not look caliber specific or am i missing something.

the bolt head might be up for sale as well as the old barrel.

Basic Member

Typically a .223 has a longer baffle to shorten the cycle of the bolt. You will more than likely need a standard baffle to have enough throw.
    Silence is golden.... duct tape is silver!!

cooker900

Ok thanks i understand now

The 260 does a bit better on a long action if you are shooting 140g bullets. You may also find that there is a baffle in the magazine of your rifle. The bolt baffle for the 223 on long action Savages kept the bolt throw shorter but they also put a baffle in the magazine so that the shorter 223 rounds fed better. If it has one, it can be taken out.

Basic Member