Thread: Smoky case necks.

irondog54

Smoky case necks.

I have started to develop a load for my 243 Predator Max. It took to the 87 V-Max and H380 right away, shooting less than an inch with a brand new rifle. I sized and neck turned the cases to a nice consistent thickness before loading. I have two loads I am zeroing in on, one is about 95%, and one is about 90%. Both group well, but the 90% load is going into 1/4 inches for three rounds! I noticed that load has smoky case necks.

Anything to worry about?

I don't mind a little extra cleanup for better accuracy. I am expecting the smoky-ness to go away once fire-formed.

Any opinions?

dacaur

Re: Smoky case necks.

Im far from an expert, but I've done a lot of reading.... Two possiblities that I have read about, Low pressure loads, or too hard brass.... If its the same brass on both loads, I would suspect the first one.... annealing the case necks would be the solution there... Personaly though, i would shoot them a second time now that they are fireformed and see what happens....

Again, I have no personal experience here, just what I have read.....

Personally, I wouldn't worry about the smokey necks if the load is shooting accurate. A quick swipe with steel wool before resizing and your good to go. Your load may be a bit on the light side too causing the soot because the neck is not expanding completely to seal the chamber. How much did you remove from the necks prior to loading?
    Vietnam Vet, Jun 66 - Dec 67

irondog54

I annealed before any loading. I took less that .0001 off of the necks, just brightened up the thick side, to an overall average thickness of right around. .0014. That measurement was consistent before and after firing. I am pretty sure I am good-to-go, I will just shoot them again, and see.

82boy