Thread: I need my scope to move a good inch forward...what base to get ?

herbeapuce

I need my scope to move a good inch forward...what base to get ?

Hi. I bought this Nikon omega scope because it has a very long eye relief ( 5 inches constant) and I now feel safer shooting my .300wsm .
    Problem is the scope tube is very short. it is around 4.75 " and with my leupold base and rings, the scope is as far as it will go from my face, but it's not far enough to my taste. I now have to move my head back just a bit to get the best view in the scope. with the base and rings now on, it has no other position possible; the rings are fixed on the base and can`t more onto another slot...

so without busting the budget , do you know of a cheap system that will allow my short scope to be mounted 1 inch forward ? one piece or 2 piece base I don`t care ( I now have a 2 piece base on and I have zero experience with one piece base on a top fed rifle...how easy/hard is it to load ammo into the rifle from the top with a 1 piece base ??)

I have to mension the rifle is a Savage model 16 NON Accutrigger ( flat rear receiver) short action (.300wsm) . I looked online ... not much choice for non accu savage nowadays...

I know I could get a nice farrell but it's a bit out of my budget... I would like to go with something cheaper if it exists. do you know of a setup that would work with my scope?

thank you
    stef, montreal

Galveston22

Re: I need my scope to move a good inch forward...what base to get ?

82boy

What kind of bases do you have? On weaver bases you can flip the base around and gain a small amount of movement. Weaver grand slam base has an extended base, and they run about 10 bucks each. You could get away with one, but you would need another grand slam base so that they would be the same height.

dcloco

Or use an EGW brand weaver style one piece rail and move the scope wherever you need it.