PDA

View Full Version : Remove Accutrigger for bedding job? or not?

barrel-nut
05-23-2011, 09:25 PM
Hi guys! I have a new Model 12 VLP single shot with the lightweight accu-trigger that is suffering from an unhappy union with its factory laminated stock. I would really like to attempt to remedy this situation by bedding it in Devcon. Problem is, I've never done this before, and it seems highly likely that I would get some of this stuff into the trigger mechanism. My question is, is it possible to remove the Accutrigger without fouling it up, and if so, how do you do it? It seems that bedding this action would be much simpler without the trigger attached, since there is no magazine cutout on this model, just a smooth round underside, with the exception of the trigger of course. Any help would be greatly appreciated; thanks in advance.

barrel-nut
05-23-2011, 09:40 PM
To clarify, my plan is to remove the trigger, then fill in the trigger inletted area in the stock with modeling clay when I bed the action. Then, after it cures, remove the barreled action, remove the clay from the stock and clean it up, re-install the accutrigger, and hopefully enjoy phenomenal accuracy for the rest of my days. Or, at least, make it better than it was. Am I on the right track with this, or should I be looking at this from a different angle?

82boy
05-23-2011, 11:00 PM
I ALWAYS remove the trigger before I bed ANY rifle.

bigcatdaddy
05-23-2011, 11:05 PM
Yup, pull the pin and remove it. Pay close attention to the spring and bolt release lever before you do it. This is the diffucult part of reassembly. Once you understand orientation of the spring...reassembly is a snap.

jpdown
05-23-2011, 11:18 PM