PDA

View Full Version : Redding Competition seating die adjustment

bigcatdaddy
05-07-2011, 08:13 PM
I have Redding's seating die in 7mm-08 Rem, the competition die with the flaoting stem. 1st time using today, I could not get die set by adjusting at the top of ram stroke with shellholder in place. Ram to the top of stroke with shellholder in place, and I set the die body until it was firmly touching the shellholder...by the time I had the seating stem screwed all the way in...I was still short on adjustment. With stem adjusted to end of it's travel for adjustment, I was still short .02's of where I wanted to be. Was trying to seat SMK, 168 gr, HPBT. Is it possible that I need a longer/different seating stem for this bullet?

Any ideas?

I pulled the shellholder out, set die off ram without shellholder, then replaced the shellholder and had enough travel to get the job done.

Novice here, and I think I'm doing something wrong, 'eh?

blom
05-08-2011, 08:43 AM
Call redding
, they are very helpful

Slowpoke Slim
05-08-2011, 10:04 AM
If I'm reading you correctly, you are bottoming out the seater die against the shell holder with the ram all the way up? And you still can't seat the bullet down enough?

!

Something is drastically wrong. Like you have the wrong seater die in your die set. Or the wrong seater die body was used to assemble the 7-08 die.

My gut says you'll be sending that one back to Redding for a free replacement.

bigcatdaddy
05-08-2011, 10:37 AM
Yup guys, you got it right.

Only thing I'm pondering is the sleeve inside..that holds the seating stem. Could it be upside down? Will check but I bet it only goes into the die-body in one orientation.

Guess I'll call Redding tomorrow AM.

Thx for the response. I'll post the ultimate fix...or operator error report!

Quickshot
05-08-2011, 09:13 PM