PDA

View Full Version : Another new savage owner - intro and questions

Stockrex
04-13-2011, 12:18 PM
Greetings from West Michigan,
I am grand rapids, so if you close by pls give me shout out :-)
I am new to both large cliber rifles and "gunsmithing", I have been absorbing all I can from the posts here on savage builds.
I picked up a Mark II thumbhole with heavy in .22 for my 8 year old girl and a savage 11 FCXP3 in .243 for Michigan hunting and little plinking. I need to make time to go out to a kid friendly range here in Grand Rapids,

After reading here about all the wonderful results users had with using the action from a stevens, I took I picked up a stevens 30-06 from a local retailer. I am wanting to build a .223 to punch some paper and if I am good at it then take it out to shoot some small game.

I apologize ahead for my noob questions and appreciate your patience:

1. is it ok to use a long action to build a .223? what mods, if any, do I need to make to accommodate a .223 bullet?
2. barrel - I was thinking mcgowen, small shank? 7 twist in 29 inch,
What taper should I go for?

3. Trigger, Initially I want to polish and lighten the stock trigger to learn the technique. I would like to get an aftermarket trigger, wihch one will fit the stevens action?

tammons
04-13-2011, 12:51 PM
Greetings from West Michigan,
I am grand rapids, so if you close by pls give me shout out :-)
I am new to both large cliber rifles and "gunsmithing", I have been absorbing all I can from the posts here on savage builds.
I picked up a Mark II thumbhole with heavy in .22 for my 8 year old girl and a savage 11 FCXP3 in .243 for Michigan hunting and little plinking. I need to make time to go out to a kid friendly range here in Grand Rapids,