PDA

View Full Version : Ranging Riflescopes / Brands / feedback

Pages : [1] 2

rphguy
04-04-2011, 09:53 PM
Would like some personal usage info on the various long range scopes and preferences.
I have no experience thus far with long range scopes. I will be needing to in the somewhat near future.

Some have the built in rangefinder and "red dot" for where to aim.
Bushnell Yardage Pro...... never cared for Bushnell, but never bought their upper lines before.
Burris Eliminator............. Know nothing about Burris.
others?

Some have custom dials to dial in the crosshair for a known distance
Leupold CDS
Vortex
others?

Some have the crosshairs for different ranges
Zeiss Conquest Z-plex
Leupold
many others....

I'm looking for a low light scope.
ease of use...... the z-plex seems like a lot to remember with the range and what power is proper for the dot you use.
the eliminator and the yardage pro seem the easiest
but the CDS seems better

I'd plan to shoot no further than 500 yards in hunting situation, I feel sure, but who knows?

What are the pluses and minuses for each and what do you use yourself?

sha-ul
05-01-2011, 12:45 PM
anybody care to chime in, as I'm curious as well

geargrinder
05-01-2011, 06:05 PM
I think the best long range scopes in the bang for the buck category are.

1- Vortex FFP PST. It is FFP for any magnification holdover and you can get custom turrets calibrated for your load. Best customer service around.
2- Bushnell 4200/Elite Tactical FFP. Very durable. Decent glass. Good tracking.
3- Weaver FFP Tactical. Great glass. Solid reputation. Good tracking.

You'll also need a good LRF. I'm using the Bushnell Fusion 1600 binoculars backed up with a Swaro Laser Guide.

nuclabuyer
05-01-2011, 06:19 PM
I use the Nightforce NP-1RR seems to work real well. All you need to know is something on the target that is approx 18". They also have hash and mildot reticles. And then I have a Leupold rangefinder, pretty reliable to 800 yards.

rez187