PDA

View Full Version : Brand New Savage Owner Here

Titan_Bow
03-23-2011, 04:49 PM
Howdy, I thought I'd introduce myself here as I will likely be along with lots of questions and advice. I am a long time bowhunter, and just bought my first rifle 2 days ago. Its a Savage model 16 in .270WSM. Its still in the process of being shipped to my FFL here. Its coming with a Tasco tactical mil dot scope and harris bipod. Its used, but in great condition. Its got the AccuTrigger, but not the new Accustock.
A few questions I have to get started next week at the range...

1. Is there any specific cleaning or de-fouling regiment you should do on a used gun before taking it out for the first time?

2. I'm a novice, and not handloading.. Whats a good round to start out with? Is it OK to shoot and sight in with cheaper rounds and save the more expensive rounds for hunting? Or is there a good brand/type to stick with for all around use?

3. For future tinkering on it, I read alot about the stocks having flex which impacts accuracy. How much better accuracy can I expect by upgrading the stock to something like a Choate Tactical?

4. I'm not sure on this scope yet either. Does Tasco make better scopes? MY only experience with them has been with very cheap scopes. Do they make a decent scope as well? I'm thinking this will be my first upgrade to this rifle, as I am a big fan of Vortex optics. I'd like to put a Vortex Diamondback on it at some point, but if this Tasco scope will do, I will keep it for a while.

375Win
03-23-2011, 06:41 PM
Most Savages shoot well with the tupperware stocks, be sure and clean up the barrel channel and make sure that it doesnt touch the barrel don't try and use the sling as a shooting aid, don't use a bipod and keep you front rest well back on the forend when shooting at the range or off a rest.