PDA

View Full Version : Savage 116 Mount/Rings

sauced10
02-16-2011, 02:23 AM
Which mount/rings do yall recommend on a Savage 116 338 Win Mag? Mount MOA? Ring Size?

This is mainly a hunting gun and I'm still debating on a few scopes. Burris Fullfield E1, Leupold VX-1 or VX-2

james86
02-16-2011, 11:41 AM
I'm still a bit of an amateur, but I think I can guess what a lot of the guys will recommend for rings.

http://www.midwayusa.com/viewproduct/?productnumber=416175

I'm not really sure about mounts though.

-James.

bowhntr04
02-16-2011, 05:50 PM
I'm a newby also, but for my new 111 in 7mag i just purchased the EGW base and Warne maxima rings. $75 overall which is more than i'm used to spending on mounts and rings, but should be a solid platform and still a lot less than many set ups.

sauced10
02-17-2011, 12:57 PM

verminator
02-18-2011, 09:33 PM
I am a firm believer that the glass should cost the same or more than the rifle ! Do yourself a favor and don't skimp on a scope. Thats my 2 cents

sauced10
02-19-2011, 09:04 PM
I am a firm believer that the glass should cost the same or more than the rifle ! Do yourself a favor and don't skimp on a scope. Thats my 2 cents

For a hunting rifle that gets shot maybe 5x a year at 50-300 yards?

verminator
02-25-2011, 10:03 AM

Yes even for a hunting rifle, But if you want to watch a Buck of a life time walk away because your Wally World scope didn't hold zero, Have at it. Maybe next season your buck will be on my wall LOL The OP wanted opinions that is mine.

helotaxi
02-25-2011, 10:20 AM