PDA

View Full Version : stevens 200

joeyp
01-09-2011, 11:30 AM
i picked up a 223 fairly cheap im new to working on guns what would be the easiest barrel and stock for me to put on my self and what would it cost thank you

kslefty
01-09-2011, 11:47 AM
Need to know if it is stagger or centerfeed. There are more choices for stagger feed stocks. As for a barrel shoot yours it may surprise you. A barrel chambered in anything with a .378 case head will be the quickest swap, 221 fireball, .222, .204 ruger, 6.5 x 47 should work also. Also recommend a 3 screw savage trigger if you can find one.

McKinneyMike
01-09-2011, 12:13 PM
B&C Medalist stock and about any of the pre-fit barrels in the caliber that will work with your bolt head from Shilen, McGowan, Criterion, etc. Jim Briggs at Northland Shooters Supply would be my first choice and he is a sponsor here. Look under the Sponsors forums and Kim lists all of the barrels that he has in stock and he can have just about anything made for less money, but you will have a little wait to get them, depending upon which maker you choose.

ellobo
01-09-2011, 03:42 PM
Check out Boyds. They make mostly stocks for blind magazines. If that is what you have they make excellent stocks cheap. I have three and am pleaed with them.

joeyp
01-09-2011, 04:25 PM
thank you i am going to order a barrel and stock do i need any special tools

Tim300wsm
01-09-2011, 05:39 PM
you need a barrel nut wrench and a vise with wood blocks so it doesnt mark up your barrel and some go no-go gauges

GaCop
01-10-2011, 08:09 AM
Your hooked now for sure...........................there's no return from the "dark side" of barrel swapping. ENJOY!

joeyp
01-10-2011, 11:56 AM
are the go no go gauges hard to use and if they are is there a book that can teach me

hailstone
01-10-2011, 12:30 PM