PDA

View Full Version : two missfires from new build???????

Pages : [1] 2

jgerrington
12-17-2010, 12:02 PM
Got finished with my new 243 win build and was working up a load for it today. was trying different seating depths and leaving powder the same. After two encouraging 5 shot groups measuring 0.887 and 0.565, I had two missfires, I recocked and fired on same cases multiple times and still no bang. This is a centerfeed ss action. Primers looked damanged enough but I don't know. Using CCI LR BR primers. Any thoughts why this is happening. This is my first build and I want to say thanks to all who participate in this forum b/c I learned a LOT from here. I will post a pic of the gun.

Nor Cal Mikie
12-17-2010, 12:53 PM
Brass too short, not being held firm in the chamber and being pushed forward with not enough force to pop the primer?? Headspace set a "little" on the longer side?? Check the size of the dud rounds (brass) compared to the others that fired. Longer seating depth might help keep the round tight in the chamber till it gets fire formed?

earl39
12-17-2010, 01:13 PM
If all primers came from the same 100 box it could be bad primers.
Forgot to put powder in case. It happens or so a little birdy told me. :'(

and no a primer alone will not shove a bullet down the barrel if there is good tension holding it in the brass (depending upon size and weight) altho it might make it move a few thousands.

Just a few other things to check that you can add to Mike's list.

Rifleman51
12-17-2010, 01:34 PM
Check the headspace and firing pin protrusion. Make sure the primers are fully seated.

It's also possible that you got some bad primers. I have found little difference between the match primers and the regular CCI primers, so I save money just using the regular primers.