PDA

View Full Version : bolt rifle question

bossstrick
12-12-2010, 08:50 PM
Hi, I am new to the savage group and would like to ask if anyone has any experiance with the 22-250 caliber, model 16fhss. Was considering a new rifle and this one seemed to fit the bill. Maybe the new axis model would be great also. Any info would be great.

gge515
12-12-2010, 09:01 PM
I've got the same model in 257 Roberts. It has been extremely accurate right out of the box. It is nice and light at 6 1/2 lbs and the black stock and stainless bbl make it a great looking rifle. It really like the accutrigger.

82boy
12-12-2010, 09:18 PM
Welcome to the site.
I have had a lot of experience with Savage rifles in 22/250, and I would say that it would be one of the best choice a person could make. I had a Axis (Then called the Edge) in 22/250 the gun shoot good, but it was a far cry away from the quality of the standard Savage/Stevens rifles. The Axis is a good truck gun if you want a rifle that will get beat around, and you don't want something worth caring about. If you want a precision rifle, that can be adapted to grow with you if you decide to make changes then the Savage/Stevens is a FAR better fit.

The 16fhss has the accu-stock, and I am not a big fan of this feature. If you would ever want to change stocks down the rode it would present a bit of problem. The 16FHSS is a good field hunting gun, but if you are not planing in carring it all day long I would look into the varmint barreled rifles. The accu-stock gun such as the 16FHSS has such a high price tag on them you can get a Varmint rifle for the same price or less money. I found that the accu-stock guns have a slightly better stock than a standard plastic stock but they still flex. You can get a 12FVSS for almost the same cost as the 16FHSS, and come out with a better gun. IMO

bossstrick
12-12-2010, 10:31 PM