PDA

View Full Version : What all do I need?

HankG
12-09-2010, 12:09 PM
I am new to hunting rifles and scopes, so I was hoping to get some help from you folks.

I purchased a Savage 110 with accutrigger. It has the attached magazine, synthetic stock, and the front mount screw to the front trigger guard screw measures 5" (not sure if any of that information is required or not).

I purchased a Nikon Prostaff scope that won't be here until the end of the month.

In the mean time, I am using the Simmons scope that came mounted on the rifle as a combo package. I am assuming the base and rings aren't very good, so I would like to buy new ones (unless you say they will work).

Obviously I am not trying to buy the best of the best. I thought the Savage 110 and the Nikon Prostaff were right in my price range, so I am looking to be in that same "class" with the base and rings. I have no idea what fits what, so can I get some suggestions? If not for a particular manufacturer, could you tell me what type of base and rings will fit my rifle and scope? This gun will be used for deer hunting and range time.

gt40
12-10-2010, 01:25 AM
What caliber?

gt40

HankG
12-10-2010, 09:52 AM
It is a .270 Winchester.

HankG
12-10-2010, 11:33 AM
After doing some reading, it appears that some people are having a hard time finding something that fits the Nikon Pro Staff on a Savage 110. Would a one piece rail be my best option to ensure that the scope fits?

davidw
12-10-2010, 02:29 PM
A one piece rail would probably be the easiest way to go. Gives you flexability on ring position as well as eye relief....

Captain Finlander
12-10-2010, 10:56 PM
A one piece Burris or Leupold base would provide the shortest ring spread and the 40mm scope is easily cleared with low rings. There is always the offset front twist in ring if you need it to be shorter yet. One piece bases offer better scope alignment than do any two piece designs but the stock set up is more than adequate.

jam23
12-16-2010, 11:23 PM