PDA

View Full Version : Ok, sick of this.

Dave Hoback
02-23-2023, 09:51 AM
So here’s the scoop. I spent about 25 minutes on the phone with Savage the other day. I gave the nice young lady several part numbers (trigger components), or which I’m just concerned with the Sear. Explained my situation, that I’m a hobby builder/gunsmith, but not an FFL. She put me on hold and spoke to someone, and the reply was the same. I then asked if I could speak to her supervisor to explain the situation. I spoke to a Nick and went through the same speak. Explained to him I’m not going to send them an Action to install trigger components…that I would gladly sign any release they needed, etc. He told me although it used to be like that in the past, their new system must have an FFL # to process certain parts; that it was a lockout, he explained. So we are hosed on that.

I decided I’m just going to make my own Sear/Bolt release. They are insanely simple components. Look at one, and imagine it flat. Just need to cut/shape the pattern from steel, drill the holes & fold to shape. Heat treat/temper & I use another tool I made to stone the proper angle of the release surface. I have some .080” 4130 Alloy sheet I think will work nicely. I can through harden instead of case hardening, so won’t need to worry about it. I am very grateful to have a knowledge of metallurgy.

Any thoughts?

This is the one I’m making.
https://i.ibb.co/JyY38N0/038-B0-D6-B-F153-40-B5-A1-B3-7-D27-D066-D389.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

jkv45
02-23-2023, 10:05 AM
I bought a new Henry .22 lever-action rifle the other day, and the magazine tube didn't slide in and out of the rifle smoothly, like it had a slight bend.

I called Henry, gave the part number for the outer tube (not the assembly) and was told they cannot send that part out, the entire rifle needs to be returned to replace it.

What? Really? I said I would understand if it were a serialized part -but it's just a brass tube.