PDA

View Full Version : Just joined, comments on Savage MSR

Samuel
01-07-2023, 02:08 AM
Hey all!

I wanted to weigh in on the MSR-10 issue, but first, I am a career Marine vet, retired, Gysgt. small arms ordnance. I'm like everyone else, have built a few AR's here and there among other things. I have a MSR-10 in Creedmoor, and an axis II, also in Creedmoor. I want to say that the Savage MSR-10 is solid as a brick you know what. Anybody who is questioning the quality of an MSR either doesn't own one or needs a urinalysis. The only valid complaint is the weight is a bit front heavy, which when compared to other AR-10 platforms isn't that bad.

I personally do not care for collapsible stocks, so I replaced mine with a Magpul MOE. I am running Burris RT-6 optics. Every system has pro's and con's, but considering the adjustable gas port, the top shelf components, and the spot on ergonomics, I rate the Savage MSR up there with the very top of AR platforms.

I am somewhat disillusioned with the factory's lack of support; regardless of the current situation on the MSR platform if the rifle was in the catalog this recent, there should be at least some discourse, especially for something as simple as trying to replace the stock.

Sam

Dave Hoback
01-07-2023, 02:43 AM
Welcome aboard Gunny!;)