PDA

View Full Version : Want to build a bull barrel 30-06

Dogmann
10-17-2022, 12:18 AM
I’m a little new to the savages. I have a LRPV and a savage stealth . I would love to build a similar bull barrel LRPV in 30/06. What is the best way of getting this done? I don’t see any bull barrel 30/06’s in the savage lineup. I also like the old 112 bull barrel.

Dave Hoback
10-17-2022, 12:53 AM
What is your LRPV & Stealth chambered in?

You seem to be ok with single shot, yes? If so, either of those Actions would work. And if either is using a standard bolt head (308), all that is require is a Barrel. Any barrel manufacturer will have a 30-06 Bull Barrel.

If you want it to use either blind or removable magazine, you must start with a Long Action. I look for the Savage rifles used as cheap as I can find. Because I’m only interested in the Action & building off it after stripping it down & “Basement Blueprint”, LOL! With a Long Action and standard bolt head face, again only the barrel is required.,

Also, what is you DIY background with firearms. Have you replaced parts before? Replacing a Savage barrel is quite easy. Only the Action & Barrel wrench are needed, along with “Go.” Gauge in the anticipated chambering. Many here have all the tools. You may live close to one of us who would be happy to lend a hand.

Dogmann
10-17-2022, 01:46 PM
The LRPV is 223. They never made a 30cal LRPV…

Dave Hoback
10-17-2022, 02:38 PM
Yeah, I wasn’t thinking when I typed that for the LRPV… sorry. Was focusing on the Stealth.

Is it another rifle you’re looking to do? That is best option like I outlined with a Long Action. But it will work in a Short. Here’s what I would do if I wanted that style. Go to Gunbroker and either Bid on one of the lower priced or buy one of the 111’s outright. Like this: https://www.gunbroker.com/item/947478177 That gives you the Action, Bolt assy., Trigger, blind mag parts, etc.