PDA

View Full Version : 260 rem and superformance

pighunter284
08-03-2022, 02:05 PM
anyone use superformance in there 260 remington. likes or dislikes. im using 140gr barnes matchburners. thanks

Robinhood
08-04-2022, 11:32 PM
I think that stuff runs close to 4831 SC. I have no experience but some guys with long barrels like the 4831sc. Sorry I didn't have more to offer.

pighunter284
08-05-2022, 12:15 AM
no worries thats better than nothing LOL. i appreciate it

Whynot
08-07-2022, 12:48 AM
I messed around with Superformance once- but nothing lately. Never purchased anymore after that pound was used up. If you have access to other stuff then wouldn't bother with it.... but if it's between using it or not shooting then it would be worth trying to find a load. You probably know this... but it is not the same powder that the Hornady Superformance ammo is loaded with- and I never got any great velocities (in a 6mm Rem). In 260 I'm using H4350 with the barnes 140, good velocity and accuracy- but if you don't already have it then it could be a big wait.

Dave Hoback
08-17-2022, 10:24 AM
Don’t use it myself I my 260 loads. I’m still a big fan of the RL17 even with it’s Temp. quirks. But you might want to take a gander at this video, if you haven’t already. Sure, it’s 6.5 CM, not 260…but I’d say the characteristics are a good tell of what you may expect.

It’s just not impressive at all.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lJiUjUTC4k

pighunter284
08-21-2022, 12:40 PM
well i finally got to chrono this load. 1 grain shy of barnes suggestion and i was at 2809 with a SD of 14. it was 3/4" MOA and walked out to 1000 yds no issues. theres still room to play so i dont see an issue with hitting 2850fps.

Ernest T
08-21-2022, 11:25 PM
The Hornady manual lists pretty high velocities for Superformance and 6.5 CM with Hornady ELD 140s, up to 2800 FPS. I'm surprised to hear its not an impressive powder. I was going to buy some for use when I can't get others.

pighunter284