PDA

View Full Version : Cutting and recrowning barrels at home

Pages : [1] 2

Newtosavage
02-21-2022, 05:04 PM
I'm curious how many of you cut and recrown your own barrels at home.

I've been doing this for about 6 years now and darned if every barrel I've chopped and recrowned by hand didn't shoot better afterwards. Not sure if it's a better crown than the factory crown, or the shorter barrel is just stiffer. Either way, I quit worrying about it years ago.

All my barrels are lightweight hunters in the 20-21" range. That's just where they balance the best for me I guess.

I followed the method described by Larry Potterfield for cutting and recrowning a barrel, and finish with a brass screw and valve grinding compound followed by abrasive toothpaste and 1000 grit wet/dry sandpaper. They come out looking and shooting great.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b43odFm0mrI

Here are the results from my latest barrel, after chopping my .284 Win X-Caliber down to 21" and recrowning

Phreddie30.06
02-21-2022, 05:18 PM
All I am capable of is cleaning guns after my wife gets them dirty. Ask her! That looks like it works out pretty good for you.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk

Underdog
02-21-2022, 06:13 PM
Very nice work you've done there, and I have several rifles I'd like to shorten a bit. I never really gave it a try though, but I believe it is something I could accomplish once I got past the first cut. I have an old Axis with a damaged trigger and sear that is unable to fire anymore, I guess that would be the perfect practice rifle to hone my skills on.

Newtosavage
02-21-2022, 06:17 PM
Here's one I did recently on a .308 Savage barrel. Prolly shoulda kept that barrel.

Newtosavage
02-21-2022, 06:19 PM
The key is the use a clean, new brass flat head screw and some good valve grinding compound like this

PhilC
02-21-2022, 06:28 PM
Can't argue with successful results. Nice work!

NF1E
02-21-2022, 06:51 PM