PDA

View Full Version : Starting loads for large capacity cases?

Pages : [1] 2

efm77
08-11-2021, 02:02 PM
I'm somewhat new to reloading (only been doing it a few years and not in large quantities), and have always read a general rule of thumb to start 10% below the listed max load and work up from there. However, I've read a few pieces that state for cases with capacities above 40 grains, to only reduce by 5%. Some manuals I see the starting loads for larger cases seem to fall in that area as well. What's your experience? Is that considered safe to start 5% below instead of 10%, especially on something like a RUM or Lapua case?

MikeT124
08-12-2021, 11:08 AM
For bottle neck rifle cases and some (44, 45C, 454 etc) pistol cases I never go less than the Minimum (starting) load in a reliable up to date loading manual. I generally use a manual from a bullet mfg or powder mfg if they identify the bullet and it's the one I'm using.

Mike

yobuck
08-12-2021, 11:53 AM
I'm somewhat new to reloading (only been doing it a few years and not in large quantities), and have always read a general rule of thumb to start 10% below the listed max load and work up from there. However, I've read a few pieces that state for cases with capacities above 40 grains, to only reduce by 5%. Some manuals I see the starting loads for larger cases seem to fall in that area as well. What's your experience? Is that considered safe to start 5% below instead of 10%, especially on something like a RUM or Lapua case?
Finding a place to start is much easier than finding the place to stop.
And if your going to be loading the large capacity cases, why wouldnt you be wanting to know where to stop asap?

efm77
08-12-2021, 12:59 PM