PDA

View Full Version : Which 223 to buy.

jnr88
07-12-2021, 05:38 PM
I’m very new to precision shooting. A friend got me started with a LRPV with a Timney trigger.and a Vortex PST SIGHT. I’m now looking at the Benchest model and the F T/R. I maybe shooting to 600 yds. Is there a reason to select one of these rifles over another. Is there another model I should consider? Thanks for all advice.

wbm
07-12-2021, 05:42 PM
Is there another model I should consider?

Don't know about another model but is there another caliber you should consider? Yes. 6mm.

However, if you are stuck on 223 for bench rest then I would consider the FT/R.

https://www.savagearms.com/content?p=firearms&a=product_summary&s=18154

charlie b
07-12-2021, 10:15 PM
What is your interest? Shooting for fun or competition? Will 600yd be your limit or will you want to shoot further? If competition which venue? Fclass, F/TR, etc?

Fclass and most other classes are open to cartridge. F/TR is limited to .308WIn or .223Rem.

I do not compete, only shoot at the range for fun.

My first rifle for longer ranges was the .223 cause I thought it would be more economical given availability of brass and cheap bullets. As I went for more accuracy the brass became Lapua and bullets were the Sierra Match Kings. Not cheap anymore. But, it is accurate enough for medium ranges (300-600yd).

Having said that, my next barrel will be a 6BR. Will carry wind a bit better and be a viable cartridge out to 1000yd. Cost just a few pennies more per round.

My other rifle is a .308 (12BVSS). I chose it for two reasons. 1) decent accuracy at 1000yd 2) good with cast bullets. Once I get the 6BR it will become a cast bullet only rifle.

Choosing the model of rifle can be important for what class you want to shoot in. F/TR is fired off a bipod and weigh less. Fclass is heavier and is fired prone from bench rests. Bench rest classes have different weight limits for different classes.