PDA

View Full Version : Chronographs and Reloading

Pages : [1] 2

yoda4x4
04-27-2021, 05:10 PM
So I'm just beginning the process of reloading for my 308 in that I've already acquired my dies, press, and the associated gear that I'll need. My question is whether or not it's important to own and use a chronograph when I'll be testing my loads. Thoughts?

David

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

yobuck
04-27-2021, 05:42 PM
It all depends.
That meaning upon the type of person you are.
Realize that untill very recently very few people owned chronagraphs.
Yet the world still got along very well.
If your main interest is group shooting, there is less reason for owning one.
But some will no doubt argue that, which again points out the differences among us.
We can even find our velocity without having one.
If the book says our load is producing 3000 fps for example, and one of the sites says that velocity needs X number of minits to reach 500 yards, why cant you just put up a target at 500 and shoot at it?
It is whatever it is as for minits, and that is what your velocity is also.
Realize now that i come from an era where very few people owned things like chronagraphs.
But frankly i did, as far back as the mid 70s ive owned them.
Do i think they have been helpfull?
Frankly, not very much.

NF1E
04-27-2021, 06:09 PM
I have a couple of chronographs. A Pro-Chrono and a Lab-Radar. I use them both occasionally. Usually after I have determined what works for me the old fashioned way. Of coarse someone always has to ask about fps so out come the machines to confuse the world. I don't see where then have helped much in load development, but then , I am not a real teckie anyway. Don't own a smart phone or data driven load calculators.

charlie b
04-27-2021, 08:23 PM