PDA

View Full Version : Model 10 223 rebarrel?

KMW1954
04-08-2021, 09:39 PM
So this used model 10 223 I purchased a short while ago may need help. I've tried a number of different loads in it and haven't been able to find anything it likes. I am thinking it may need to be re-barreled. as I have never done this before can anyone give me a general ball park cost of a stock barrel or maybe an upgrade to a varmint profile barrel?

Txhillbilly
04-08-2021, 10:31 PM
You can find take off barrels for $100+, or you can buy a pre-fit aftermarket barrel like Shilen, Criterion, McGowen, X-Caliber, E.R. Shaw, etc.. They will cost you $200 - $400, but they will out shoot a factory barrel all day long.
Northland Shooter's is a good place to buy a Shilen or Criterion barrel.
X-Caliber makes a great barrel, and usually run their barrels on sale around any holiday for 25% off.
Gun Shack sells Shaw and McGowen barrels for really good prices.

hamiltonkiler
04-09-2021, 05:42 AM
Try a good smith recrown job first. Took mine from 1.5 to now under 1moa.
He had to take an inch of barrel since the end was pitted so bad. The bullet never had a chance to come come out stable.

Scrub the whistle out of the barrel with a brush on a drill. Use solvent and toothpaste.

Then foul shoot it 10 times or so.

Then print some groups and see how she does.

My barrel looks like the moons surface on the inside.

Make sure your scope is good and the bases and rings are good.

Sorry if you know these things just throwing them out there.

Barrel needs to be floated away from stock.
Bedding the front of the action and recoil lug helps a lot. Make sure torque on take down bolts are adequate.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

KMW1954
04-09-2021, 08:05 PM