PDA

View Full Version : Sorting Brass by Weight

Pages : [1] 2 3

Bill2905
10-18-2020, 09:34 PM
I have never done any sorting of brass before but am interested in learning more about it as a method for increasing case uniformity.

I have two boxes of new Lapua 6BR cases with different mfg lot numbers on them. It was a slow night here so I weighed 25 pieces from each box with the following results;

Lot A
Average = 128.6 gr
STDEV = 0.35

Lot B
Average = 128.7 gr
STDEV = 0.51

My understanding is that it is a common practice to determine the average weight and then select all the cases that fall within +/- X and exclude all those that do not.

For the weights shown above, what is a reasonable tolerance to set for culling the outliers?

Thanks

Robinhood
10-18-2020, 09:49 PM
I like to get rid of the ones that are way off. At a half a grain you are not doing to bad. I mark the ones that are outside of the average. If it shoots good in my group I know that I am in the optimal weight charge and feel good about the sorting. If it is a flyer it is culled as a suspect. I do my groups at 400 and test again at 600.

In my opinion you will get the best mileage from even neck tension, Bullet RO under .002" above the ogive and Very close and accurate powder charges(.03 grain variation)

mikeinco
10-18-2020, 10:02 PM
what distance ARE YOU PLANNING TO SHOOT AND WHAT ACCURACY ARE YOU EXPECTING.
i have sorted as fine as .05. i have sorted to less than 0.1cc in volume sort,
BUT nothing maters is ALL the parts aren't at the same level.
0.1 sort and then combine in small shootable groups.......seldom bigger than +/- 0.3, typically +/- 0.1.
define the task, list the tools then see what helps to the goal.
( my personal lapua 6br brass is sorted to a .25 SPREAD. used in 6br, 30 br and 6 dasher)

Ted_Feasel
10-19-2020, 07:45 AM
I have never done any sorting of brass before but am interested in learning more about it as a method for increasing case uniformity.