PDA

View Full Version : Charge weight in fired brass vs new

efm77
10-07-2020, 11:10 AM
I'm still fairly new to reloading so pardon my ignorance and/or overthinking. I've been loading for my 338 Lapua. Haven't shot a lot in it and have been using the same cases. Got a pretty good load for it and am wondering if when I have to get new brass, as long as it's from the same manufacturer, will I have to start all over again or can I use the same load I've been using. I always hear any time you change a component, you should start load development all over. But I've always taken that to mean if you change brand of brass, primer, or powder brand/type, bullet make, weight, etc. I was hoping that as long as it's the same manufacturer and everything else being the same, I wouldn't have to waste time, money, and components starting all over again. Any input would be appreciated.

mikeinco
10-07-2020, 11:46 AM
probably depends on how close to max/full case you are at.
very big case will not respond much to a small change.
i would still measure case vol of an average new and average sized used case.

yobuck
10-07-2020, 02:09 PM
With a little luck this one could last as long as the resizing question. lol

efm77
10-07-2020, 02:45 PM
I'm 3.5 grains below the listed max charge. My first thought is it shouldn't make much, if any, difference if I use the same manufacturer that I've been using. But I'm sure there's slight variances in case capacity from lot to lot, I'm just not sure if it's enough to be potentially dangerous or now. Push come to shove I could back it off a grain or two, but it would just suck to have to completely start all over again just because it's time for new brass. If that's the case, to play it completely safe, it makes me wanna just load 10% off of max and leave it there lol.

CFJunkie
10-07-2020, 04:03 PM
I have loaded over 50,000 rounds for 8 target rifles in 3 different calibers over the last 10 years.