PDA

View Full Version : Powder dispenser

Pages : [1] 2

Totosdad
09-16-2020, 08:46 AM
First of all, I am new to reloading

I see all these add's on electronic powder dispenser's, and all of them say accurate to +/_ 0.1 grains.

So my question is, does +/_ 0.1 grains make that much difference in a load?

PhilC
09-16-2020, 09:56 AM
Depends. For a hunting round at distances under 600yds I'd say not. For target rounds, maybe. As always, many variables at play.

I'm still using the same RCBS Uniflow, trickler, and 5-10 beam scale I started with in the 80s. Dead nuts, is dead nuts, whether manual or electronic.

Got a great deal on a Chargemaster a year or so ago, and although convenient, it will occasionally throw a charge +/- a tenth or two.

Balljoint
09-16-2020, 10:19 AM
Answer to your question is NO, the PLUS/MINUS won't make any difference.
I have both type of power measures like both BUT if loading over 100 rounds i use the electronic(i have RCBS ) and under 50 use my down flow measure.

Balljoint
09-16-2020, 10:21 AM
Also Welcome to the SAVAGE BROTHERHOOD

daved20319
09-16-2020, 11:45 AM
I use an FA Intellidropper as well as a Hornady powder measure. The electronic gets used for test and precision loads, the Hornady for range ammo, as it's much faster, and the loads are less critical. Both work well, and although the Hornady is more consistent than my old RCBS Uni-flow, the FA is even more consistent, and it's a lot easier to change charge weights when you're only loading 5 or 10 rounds at each weight. Plus it's faster and less hassle than throwing light and trickling up. I also have a beam scale, and one of the small FA digitals, I use both for weight checking, and I'm happy to say that everything agrees with everything. As to +/- .1 gr. making a difference, not in my world, but I don't shoot in competitions, just for fun. But I have no trouble putting together 1/2 MOA or better ammo with my tools and techniques. Good luck!

Dave

charlie b
09-16-2020, 02:58 PM