PDA

View Full Version : New rifle break in.

Moore77
09-14-2020, 08:46 PM
I have a Haymaker in 450 Bushmaster coming this week. I'll be hand loading for it eventually . Does anyone have certain amount of factory rounds or other ammo you use to break in a rifle before starting with hand loads.

Shooter0302
09-14-2020, 09:49 PM
Either here or on the Savage site there is a break in procedure .

jkv45
09-15-2020, 09:15 AM
Either here or on the Savage site there is a break in procedure .

I followed the Savage procedure pretty closely when breaking-in my Model 10 FCP, and it really came around after about 50 rounds or so.

Not everyone thinks it's necessary, but depending on the quality of the barrel it may help. With a factory barrel I think it's a good idea.

charlie b
09-15-2020, 09:18 AM
Savage FAQ

Although there may be different schools of thought on barrel break-in, this is what Precision Shooting Magazine recommends:
STEP 1 (repeated 10 times)

Fire one round
Push wet patches soaked with a powder solvent through the bore
Push a brush through the bore (5 times in each direction)
Push dry patches through the bore (2 times)
Push wet patches soaked with a copper solvent through the bore
Push a brush through the bore (5 times in each direction)
Push dry patches through the bore (2 times)
Push a patch with 2 drops of oil through the bore

STEP 2 (repeated 5 times)

Fire a 3 shot group
Repeat the cleaning procedure from STEP 1 after each group

STEP 3 (repeat 5 times)

Fire a 5 shot group
Repeat the cleaning procedure from STEP 1

They recommend the use of a patch with 2 drops of oil after the cleaning so that you are not shooting with a dry bore. It is also advisable to use a powder solvent and copper solvent from the same manufacturer to be sure they are chemically compatible.

https://service.savagearms.com/hc/en-us/articles/214238323-What-is-the-barrel-break-in-procedure-

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------