PDA

View Full Version : Neck sizing vs full length

Pages : [1] 2 3

Mr.Snerdly
08-31-2020, 08:01 PM
I am looking for opinions on this for accuracy. Some say the full length is better since the entire case is supported when the neck is sized. That is a true statement but when you remove the case and the expander is pulled through the neck it isn't. It looks to me like this argument doesn't hold water but it is possible I am overlooking something. I am no expert and looking to learn.

bigedp51
08-31-2020, 08:55 PM
"The cartridge should fit the chamber like a rat turd in a violin case".

https://i.imgur.com/Y3IiYL5.jpg

Erik Cortina, Team Lapua USA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLG2kSrD40g

Ted_Feasel
08-31-2020, 09:43 PM
I am looking for opinions on this for accuracy. Some say the full length is better since the entire case is supported when the neck is sized. That is a true statement but when you remove the case and the expander is pulled through the neck it isn't. It looks to me like this argument doesn't hold water but it is possible I am overlooking something. I am no expert and looking to learn.If its a bolt then neck sizing is typical with every few firings with proper annealing can stop other problems from happening.

Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

Ted_Feasel
08-31-2020, 09:47 PM
If its a bolt then neck sizing is typical with every few firings with proper annealing can stop other problems from happening.

Sent from my SM-N975U using TapatalkIn my bolt guns, really gas too i anneal every time and about every 3rd load on bolts I full length rezize with controlled shoulder bumb.. does it help?? I reckon you can find arguments both side, i know i don't get donating and excellent accuracy and alot of reloads out of my starline but as I said im sure there are many opinions.

olddav
08-31-2020, 10:19 PM